B2B Email Marketing Metrics for Improved Campaign Results
16 Apr

B2B Email Marketing Metrics That Matter

One of the primary goals of any business is to understand the progress of its employees. In this regard, the analysts must optimize the organization’s daily activities. When it comes to co-email marketing, it is inevitable to involve the team frequently. To avoid some irregularities, they take suitable measures and metrics to come up with a new procedure or workstyle.  

Therefore, in the following blog, you’ll get to know what those B2B email marketing metrics are that actually matter to making progress toward your successful campaign goals. Even today, many businesses are still skeptical of measuring marketing metrics; for them, it is just a piece of data or a rating for their note-making. However, only a smart business leader or marketing officer will know how important the marketing metrics are to improving the approach while building a relationship with customers for a long time. 

What are B2B Email Marketing Metrics?

Email marketing metrics are quantitative measures that give you a clear picture of your email marketing campaign and how your recipients react to your emails. Also, by continuously measuring your B2B email marketing metrics, you can find an effective way to customize your approach that resonates with your targeted decision-makers. 

B2B email marketing metrics are very essential for evaluating the targeted reach of the audience. To check their key performance indicators, the business follows up on the assessment checks and provides preferred solutions. 

Why Are B2B Email Marketing Metrics Important?

Email marketing metrics are important to analyze and evaluate business performance, return on investment, and audience reach. It also aids in segmenting and optimizing the content regularly. Any kind of improvisation is possible only after standardizing the process by applying certain measures. 

6 Important B2B Email Marketing Metrics Are Very Essential

6 Important B2B Email Marketing Metrics Are Very Essential

1. Open rate: The open rate is the number of emails opened out of the total delivered emails. It should reflect the relevancy and effectiveness of the given topic, so it can benefit from creating the content accurately. 

Open rates are important for determining content value. To engage the audience, the subject has to be explained to all its benefactors. So they can understand the matter and proceed with further action.

The open rate is calculated by dividing the total number of emails opened by the total delivered emails, excluding the bounced ones.

Open rate = (Number of emails opened / (Number of emails delivered – bounce emails)) *100

For example, the number of emails opened is 80.

The number of delivered emails is 100.

The number of bounced emails is fifty.

So the open rate is (80/(100-5)). *100 = 84.21%

Key strategies for increasing open rates are:

  • Content crafting
  • Accurate information, 
  • Audience engagement, 
  • Personalization and optimization
  • Consistency
  • Seasonal range.

Following these strategies can help opt for better results in email marketing.

2. Click-through rate: The click-through rate is the number of links clicked inside the email out of the total delivered emails. It evaluates the level of engaging factors in the content that lead the audience to take the final action. 

The click-through rates are very important for analyzing the conversion potential, the effectiveness of the content, and calls to action. It benefits the segmentation of audience responses and optimizing the content as per their requirements.

You can calculate the CTR by dividing the number of clicks by the total number of email deliveries.

CTR (Click-through Rate) = (Total recipient clicked on your emails / Total emails delivered) * 100

For example, the number of clicks is 60.

The number of delivered emails is 100.

So the click-through rate is 60/100. *100 = 60%

To increase click-through rates, the content has to be filled with interactive elements like urgency and scarcity in the advertisement, social reviews, and other benefactors. This can help achieve the estimated results.

3. Conversion rate: This refers to the total number of actions completed by the beneficiaries relative to the total number of visitors. That is where you can estimate the range of audience acceptance. 

Conversion rates are crucial to understanding audience behavior, benchmarking, and comparing content and business growth. Apart from these, generally, it is used for optimization in customers’ journeys, which can lead to a betterment in their experience. 

You can calculate the conversion rate by dividing the number of conversions by the total number of visitors.

Conversion rate: (Number of conversions / Number of visitors) * 100

For example, the number of conversions is 100.

The number of visitors is 1,000.

So the conversion rate is (100 / 1000)*100 = 10%.

The major strategies to increase conversion rates are to optimize landing pages, create trust and credibility, and improve website performance. This helps in creating brand value, which can bring more leads for the business.

4. Bounce rate: The bounce rate is the number of unsent emails to the targeted audience. It could happen because of incorrect details, storage, or technical issues.

The bounce rate is important for optimizing website performance, user experience, and advertising return on investment. It helps identify the reason for unsuccessful email deliveries.

The bounce rate can be calculated by dividing the number of bounced emails by the number of delivered emails. 

Bounce rate: (Number of bounced emails / Number of delivered emails) * 100

For example, the number of bounced emails is 30.

The number of delivered emails is 1,000.

So the bounce rate is (30/1000)*100 = 30%.

Relisting the email accounts will reduce the bounce rates and prevent unsuccessful deliveries. Segmentation is very important to reach the targeted audience.

5. Unsubscribe Rate: The unsubscribe rate represents the total number of unfollowed audience members who have chosen to discontinue receiving emails from the concerned entity. This reveals the performance of a piece of content and its flaws.

Unsubscribe rates are crucial for analyzing the relevance of the content and presenting it accordingly. Many unsubscriptions take place due to ineffective information. 

You can calculate the unsubscribe rate by dividing the number of unsubscriptions by the total number of subscriptions.

Unsubscribe rate: (Number of unsubscriptions / Total subscriptions) * 100 

For example, the number of unsubscriptions is 100.

Number of delivered emails is 10,000.

So the bounce rate is (100 / 10000)*100 = 1%.

The content should always be new and different to decrease unsubscriptions. We should solicit feedback from subscribers who choose to permanently discontinue content alerts. So, the reasons that can be considered to personalize the website

6. Delivery rate: It is the number of deliveries that have been reached to the audience out of the total emails that have been sent, excluding bounced ones. It helps to know the delivery and bounce range of emails that have been sent. As a result, it provides an estimation of your audience circle.

The standard delivery rate, as per industry standards, should be between 89% and 95%. 

Some Other Metrics of Business-to-Business Email Marketing

  • The share rate indicates the number of emails shared by the audience. This gives additional promotion value to content by increasing its exposure. The increase in share rate helps in gathering new leads and audiences, which depends on the quality of the content and its advantages.
  • Engagement over time by the audience creates engaging value over time. It provides an overview of audience responses and assists in optimizing future patterns accordingly. 
  • Device and location metrics are the data collected for a better experience and geographical approach. We use it to understand the audience’s device type and location, which helps us conduct campaigns, promotions, and awareness programs effectively.
  • Return on investment is the total amount of income that is gained against the expenditure spent on publishing the content. Calculating the ROI is critical to ensuring that funds are available for marketing the product or services without incurring any losses.


These metrics are some of the best ways to apply them for the sustainability and betterment of any B2B email marketing business to avoid limitations and irregularities. It needs continuous optimization to stick with the trend, and certain levels of strategies are to be included. To approach a wide range of prospects, the firm has to present an innovative approach and take certain measures to make it better every day. By the end of this blog article, you’ll be aware of how open rates and click rates to measure ROI play an important role in shaping your email marketing campaign. 

To effectively measure the metrics of your campaign, you need to be aware of your targeted audience persona and their preferences. Sending promotional emails without understanding your intended audience is akin to aiming blindly. Therefore, it is essential to know your customer profile, and that’s where ListsXpanders comes with a verified and highly segmented B2B mailing list that covers detailed information about decision-makers, stakeholders, and business leaders from the top global companies, including their email addresses, contact numbers, and other relevant information, which can be beneficial to customize your email marketing to resonate with your targeted audience.